My First Charcoal Portrait – Bharatratna Pt. Bhimsen Joshi

wpid-img_20150111_214255.jpg

My first charcoal portrait attempt.

Charcoal portraits was something I always wanted to do. But being in different profession I had lost touch with sketching after college life. So it was something I was doing after long time and that too with Charcoal.. which was a new medium for me.

” But I feel happy.. it all started again..”

The thing with charcoal is that there is very little scope for errors and corrections. But certainly, if you can handle it well charcoal brings out that extra from your art work. You can feel texture.. also it gives you immense joy as a Sketcher. Personally I feel it’s easy to render out expressions with charcoal.. but yeah, its tricky.

This portrait took around 3 hrs. And I think I did well.. especially in capturing Panditji’s expressions. Those typical Panditji Expressions !

About Panditji :

Bhimsen Gururaj Joshi  ( 4 February 1922 – 24 January 2011) was an Indian vocalist in the Hindustani classicaltradition. He is known for the khayal form of singing, as well as for his popular renditions of devotional music (bhajans and abhangs).he received the Bharat RatnaIndia‘s highest civilian honour, in 2008.

Courtesy : Wikipedia

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bhimsen_Joshi

Please let me know your views. And yes, if you like it.. please share it with your friends and family as well.

Leave a Reply

